FIT has an international translation prize designed to promote the translation of fiction literature, improve the quality thereof and draw attention to the role of translators in bringing the peoples of the world closer together in terms of culture. The prize is sponsored by a generous donation from the Norwegian Association of Literary Translators (NO), and is financed by copyright revenues.

2017 winner

Winners of the Aurora Borealis Prize for Fiction:

2017Martin PollackAustria / Autriche
2014Xu YuanchongChina / Chine
2011Lourdes Arencíbia RodriguezCuba
2008Mona LangeNorway / Norvège
2005Gregory RabassaUnited States / États-Unis
2002Ewald OsersUnited Kingdom / Royaume-Uni
1999Lisa MarksteinAustria / Autriche