FIT has an international translation prize designed to promote the translation of non-fiction literature, improve the quality thereof and draw attention to the role of translators in bringing the peoples of the world closer together in terms of culture. The prize is sponsored by a generous donation from the Norwegian Association of Non-Fiction Writers and Translators (NFF), and is financed by copyright revenues.

2017 winner

Kevin McNeil Windle
nominated by the Australian Institute of Interpreters and Translators (AUSIT)

Winners of the Aurora Borealis Prize for Non-Fiction

Year Winner Work
2017 Kevin McNeil Windle Australia / Australie
2014 Metella Paterlini Italy / Italie
2011 Rodolfo Alpízar Castillo Cuba
2008 Markku Päkkilä Finland / Finlande
2005 Knut Johansen Norway / Norvège
2002 Ewald Osers United Kingdom / Royaume-Uni
1999 Risto Varteva Finland / Finlande