Basel, 27 October 2014

Download the press release in pdf format here.

New council 2014 (minus Gangyi W)

On 3 August the triennial Statutory Congress of the International Federation of Translators – the voice of associations of translators, interpreters and terminologists around the world – elected the 17-member Council (pictured above, Gangyi Wang of China absent) of the Federation for the period from 6 August 2014 until the conclusion of the FIT Congress in Brisbane in 2017.


The FIT Council of 2014-17 elected Dr Henry Liu of New Zealand the President of the Federation. He will be assisted by the other members of the Executive Council comprising of Vice Presidents Reiner Heard of Germany, Silvana Marchetti of Cuba and Terence Oliver of the United Kingdom with Sabine Colombe of France as the Secretary General and Reina de Bettendorf of Panama as the Treasurer (pictured above).

This is the first time the 61-year old Federation will be led by a New Zealander. The last President from Oceania was Professor Adolfo Gentile of Australia (1999-2002). Another “first” in FIT history is having a Council Member from Azerbaijan – Ismayil Jabrayilov. Other countries represented on Council in alphabetical order are: Australia, Finland, Greece, Italy, Norway, the People’s Republic of China, Russia, South Africa, the Netherlands and the United States of America.

The Federation will continue to have Jeannette Ørsted of Denmark serving as Executive Director. She is based in Basel.

In addition to regional centres in Europe, Latin America and North America, each Council Member will be responsible for developing a closer relationship with associations from countries within their portfolios. For more information, please visit the FIT website.

At the Berlin Congress, the Statutory Congress also elected 5 esteemed individuals as new Honorary Advisors. They are Marion Boers of South Africa (President 2008-14), Frans de Laet of Belgium (Secretary General 2008-11), Andrew Evans of the United Kingdom (Treasurer 2008-13), Adolfo Gentile of Australia (President 1999-2002) and Peter Krawutschke of the United States of America (President 2005-08). They will join René Haeseryn of Belgium (Honorary Editor of Babel), Jean-François Joly of Canada (President 1990-96), Liese Katschinka of Austria (Vice President 1984-87; Secretary General 1993-99) and Anna Lilova of Bulgaria (President 1979-90) to afford sage advice to the Federation.

The Berlin Congress further resolved unanimously to call upon national governments and the international community to take action to protect local translators and interpreters in conflict zones. See the full text of the resolution here.